Announcing the Biblical Foundations Book Award

The Center for Biblical Studies is pleased to announce the inaugural Biblical Foundations Book Award, a peer-reviewed prize honoring the best books in biblical studies in the categories of Old Testament, New Testament, and Biblical Theology.

The Biblical Foundations Book Award is distinct from other awards in its biblical studies focus, evangelical ethos, and distinguished jurors. Criteria for nominations include quality of scholarship, contribution to the field, doctrinal fidelity, and service to the church. Panelists come from a variety of academic backgrounds and institutions. This year’s panelists include: T. D. Alexander, Mark Boda, Jason DeRouchie, Peter Gentry, Gregory Goswell, Tremper Longman, and Andrew Steinmann (OT); Craig Blomberg, Jeannine Brown, Lynn Cohick, Andreas Köstenberger, Thomas Schreiner, and Robert Yarbrough (NT); and T. D. Alexander, Jason DeRouchie, Benjamin Gladd, Andreas Köstenberger, and Thomas Schreiner (Biblical Theology).

Participating publishers who submitted nominations for books published in 2019 are Baker Academic, Baylor University Press, B&H Academic, Christian Focus, Crossway Books, Wm. B. Eerdmans, Oxford University Press, InterVarsity Academic, Kregel Academic, Lexham Press, Sheffield Phoenix Press, T&T Clark, Westminster John Knox, Wipf & Stock, and Zondervan Academic. Other participating publishers include Cambridge University Press, Walter De Gruyter, Hendrickson, Mohr Siebeck, and Peeters.

The finalists will be announced on January 30 (OT), February 6 (NT), and February 13 (BT) with winners in each category announced on February 20. The Biblical Foundations Book of the Year 2019 will be announced on February 24. All announcements will be made jointly on both the CBS and the Biblical Foundations websites. You can also follow the Twitter feeds for CBS or Biblical Foundations for updates.

The Center for Biblical Studies would like to thank the following publishers for their participation in the 2019 Biblical Foundations Book Award.


Share this Post:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.